SSL failure

I’ve been seeing a lot of Lyrica commercials on television these days. So I went over to their website to see if they were prepared to provide a certain level of quality to the people going to their site.

I went to the Common Questions Page and decided that I wanted to check if the email was working correctly. Meaning, at a base level, it should just send out an email. To my surprise I couldn’t perform that function because the SSL was failing.

I got the following Error in Chrome v. 12.0.742.122 on Windows 7:


Unable to make a secure connection to the server. This may be a problem with the server, or it may be requiring a client authentication certificate that you don’t have.
Error 107 (net::ERR_SSL_PROTOCOL_ERROR): SSL protocol error.

I tried the same case in Firefox 5.0 and got the same thing.


Secure Connection Failed

An error occurred during a connection to http://www.lyrica.com.

SSL received a record that exceeded the maximum permissible length.

(Error code: ssl_error_rx_record_too_long)

Along the way, there also a page that wouldn’t load or it was taking forever to load; I’m not too sure. That is another test case for another time. I also validated the certificate and everything seemed OK with it. This must be a configuration issue.

See it in action:

Date of Bug: 7/31/2011
OS: Windows 7
Browsers: Google Chrome v. 12.0.742.122 | Firefox 5.0

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

